Olli COW!

I am big hockey fan, and because I live in Calgary I am naturally a huge Calgary Flames fan. Today was the trade deadline in the NHL and Flames in my opinion are HUGE winners. Finnish superstar Ollie Jokinen is now our number 1 centreman. He had big years under coach Mike Keenan when playing under him with the Florida Panthers (92 and 89 points). So I expect greatness from him and the Flames. I hope there is chemistry, because on paper Calgary looks dangerous offensively. Just thinking of him centering Cammalleri and Iginla makes me drool. And for good measure, Jordan Leopold is back on Defense! WOO He was big in the 2004 playoff run to the Stanley Cup Finals. On the other note, sad to see Lombardi go, he’s a quality third line checker with spectacular speed. But you gotta give a little quality to get some quality. Here’s some highlights of Olli’s big goals. Can’t wait for Friday against Philly. 

2 Responses to “Olli COW!”


  1. 1 S.D March 5, 2009 at 6:44 am

    I’m going to be straight up. As a Calgarian, I want to get excited about Jokinen, but I can’t.

    This is an extremely short-sighted move. If he puts this team over the top and they can win a stanley cup, than this move makes sense… Sadly, i can’t see him being the missing link that makes them a better all-around club than the sharks, wings or bruins.

    Not to mention, he makes this coming summer a major issue for the flames. With Jokinen on the payroll, they now have a grand total of $43million… for 15 players. and with UFA’s like Cammalleri/Bertuzzi… Not sure this is going to end well.

    Nonetheless, i suppose we can hope for a decent playoff run this year, as it has not come cheap.

  2. 2 holidaysinthesun March 9, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I was going to say something after our 5-1 Win over Ottawa, cos Flames looked unbelievable expecially that top line!! Even Leopold scored.

    One thing it does for us is give us options. If either of them fails to win Sutters heart, Jokinen or Cammalleri, then he at least now as that option to either trade Olli or sign Mike. Thats a good situation to be in my opinion! All really depends on how deep they go in the playoffs. So yes its short-sighted in the fact they want to win this year, but they aren’t getting younger and this teams core of Iggy, Regehr, Kipper, Phaneuf are still going to be here for awhile. And a few years ago people were wondering how Sutter would be able to sign that core and he made it happen.

    Aucoins 4 million would be off the books next year as would contracts pending to Warrener, Erikisson and Primeau I believe which is another 5 million I’ve heard from the calgarypuck.com/forum users. We ll see man! Right now I am going to enjoy this and hope our 2nd line heals up soon here.


Leave a comment




Archives